Anders Celsius

The Astronomer who didn't came to Astronomy

Celsius portrait

Anders Celsius (1701-1744)

Anders Celsius was born at the 27th of January 1701 in Uppsala. After his education time in this town north of Stockholm he became professor for astronomy already in 1730. At this time there was no larger observatory anywhere in Sweden. Therefor Celsius began a round trip to some of the famous European astronomy sites in 1732. He came from Nuremberg and Rome to Paris in 1734.

Director of the observatory there, founded in 1672, was Jaques Cassini (1677-1756) son of Jean-Dominique Cassini (1625-1712). At this time a disput between English and French astronomer about the shape of the Earth was actual. To find the true answer to this question expeditions had to be sent to the "ends" of the world to measure exactly the local positions. The expedition to the north was commissioned to Pierre Louis de Maupertuis (1696-1759), which Celsius joined as an assistant. The journey to Lapland, the very northern part of Sweden lasted from 1736 to 1737 and with the other measurements it confirmed the theory of Newton about the flattening of the Earth poles.

After the expedition Celsius returned to Uppsala and worked on the erection of an observatory, which was finished in 1740. At and after the travel to Lapland and back Celsius was one of the first to examine the changes of the Earth magnetic field at the time of a Northern light. He was also one of the first measuring the brightness of stars with measurement tools. After the completion of the first Swedish observatory he became the director of it. Celsius became famous for his recommendation in 1742 to divide the temperature scale of a mercury thermometer at 760mm mercury air pressure into 100 degrees, where 100 is the frozing point and 0 the boiling point of water. Because of the detailed fixation of the measuring circumstances and methods this definition was more exact and enabled a better temperature measurement as with the actual practices, introduced by the glass manufacturer Gabriel Daniel Fahrenheit (1686-1736) and the aristocrate and biologist René-Antoine Ferchault de Réaumur (1683-1757). Later the reversion of the Celsius scale with 0 as the frozing point and 100 as the boiling point of water was introduced, and with this modification it became widely spread.

Celsius was an active supporter for the introduction of the Gregorian calendar reform in Sweden. This was already tried in 1700, but it was planned to introduce the modifications of the date stepwise by dropping the leap days from 1700 to 1740. When 1704 and 1708 were declared as leap years by error, in 1712 Sweden returned to the Julian calendar. The engagement of Celsius was only fruitful after his death. Celsius died early in 1744 in his hometown. The Gregorian calender was introduced in Sweden in 1753, doing it by dropping the supernumerary 11 days at once. (Source: calendar.faq)

Sources:
Fritz Krafft, Adolf Meyer-Abich (Eds.): Große Naturwissenschaftler, Fischer 1970
Joachim Herrmann (Ed.): Das Große Lexikon der Astronomie, Orbis 1996


Page history:
created 1999-03-26 German version
modified 1999-04-02 translated
modified 2000-02-08 small changes

To the Sky over Berlin...To the astronomy links...-- jd --

Anders Celsius

Der Astronom, der nicht zur Astronomie kam

Celsius Portrait

Anders Celsius (1701-1744)

Anders Celsius erblickte am 27. Januar 1701 in Uppsala das Licht der Welt. Nach seiner Schul- und Studienzeit wurde er schon 1730 Professor für Astronomie in der schwedischen Stadt nördlich von Stockholm. Zu dieser Zeit existierte in Schweden keine größere Sternwarte, weshalb Celsius 1732 zu einer Reise zu den wichtigsten Sternwarten Europas aufbrach, die ihn über Nürnberg und Rom 1734 nach Paris führte.

Direktor der dortigen, seit 1672 bestehenden Sternwarte war Jaques Cassini (1677-1756) Sohn von Jean-Dominique Cassini (1625-1712). Zu dieser Zeit war ein Streit zwischen englischen und französischen Astronomen über die Form der Erde aufgekommen. Um diese festzustellen sollten Expeditionen an die "Endpunkte" der Welt durchgeführt werden, um mittels exakter Gradmessung den Streit zu entscheiden. Mit der Expedition in den Norden wurde Pierre Louis de Maupertuis (1696-1759) beauftragt, dem sich Celsius anschloß. Die Expedition nach Lappland dauerte von 1736-1737 und bestätigte die Theorie Newtons zur Abplattung der Erdpole.

Nach der Expedition kehrte Celsius nach Uppsala zurück und arbeitete an der Planung und Errichtung der Sternwarte, die 1740 fertiggestellt sein sollte. Während und nach der Lappland-Expedition beschäftigte sich Celsius als erster mit den Veränderungen des Erdmagnetfelds während des Nordlichts. Er war außerdem einer der Ersten, die die Helligkeit von Sternen mit meßtechnischen Mitteln bestimmte. Nach der Fertigstellung der Sternwarte wurde er deren erster Direktor. Berühmt wurde Celsius durch seinen Vorschlag von 1742, die Temperaturskala auf einem Quecksilberthermometer unter einem bestimmten Luftdruck (760mm Quecksilber) in hundert Teile zu teilen, wobei der Siedepunkt als 0 und der Gefrierpunkt als 100 bezeichnet werden sollte. Diese Definition ermöglichte allein schon durch die Festlegung der Meßbedingungen eine genauere Temperaturmessung als mit der bisherigen Praxis, eingeführt durch den Glasbläser Gabriel Daniel Fahrenheit (1686-1736) und dem Adligen René-Antoine Ferchault de Réaumur (1683-1757). Die Umkehrung der Celsius-Skala mit 0 als Gefrierpunkt und 100 als Siedepunkt des Wassers wurde erst später eingeführt.

Celsius engagierte sich auch für die Einführung der Gregorianischen Kalenderreform in Schweden. Dies war zwar schon 1700 versucht worden, hatte aber durch eine schrittweise Vorgehensweise durch den Wegfall der Schalttage von 1700 bis 1740 passieren sollen. Als dann irrtümlicherweise 1704 und 1708 doch Schalttage in die Kalender gerieten, kehrte Schweden 1712 zum Julianischen Kalender zurück. Celsius Engagement sollte erst nach seinem Tod erfolgreich sein. Celsius starb 1744 in Uppsala. Der Gregorianische Kalender wurde danach in Schweden erst 1753 durch den Wegfall von 11 Tagen eingeführt. (Quelle: calendar.faq)

Quellen:
Fritz Krafft, Adolf Meyer-Abich (Hrsg.): Große Naturwissenschaftler, Fischer 1970
Joachim Herrmann (Hrsg.): Das Große Lexikon der Astronomie, Orbis 1996


Seitenistorie:
erstellt 1999-03-26
geändert 1999-04-02 Temperaturskalen
geändert 2000-02-26 kleine Änderungen

Zum Himmel über Berlin...Zu den Astronomielinks...-- jd --