This night looked at Beta-Persei (Algol) and was much amazed to find its
brightness altered. It now appears to be fourth magnitude... I observed it
diligently for about an hour upwards...hardly believing that it changed its
brightness, because I had never heard of any star varying so quick in its
brightness. I thought it might be perhaps owing to an optical illusion,
a defect in my eyes or bad air, but the sequel will show that its change
is true and that it was not mistaken.

(John Goodricke, journal entry November 12, 1782)


John Goodricke

The Discovery of the Occultating Variable Stars

John Goodricke Portrait

John Goodricke (1764-1786), Astronomer

John Goodricke was born September 17, 1764 in Groningen as a son of a British diplomat and a dutch merchant daughter. With the age of five he got scarlet fever and lost his hearing abilities completely because of it. But after a proper education he was able to read lips and to speak. For this, the rich parents had sent him to a specialized school in Edinburgh. 1778 with the age of thirteen he was able to go to the academy in Warrington near York which had no special treatment or equipment for handicapped persons.

Perseus in StarryNight
The discovery of the variable stars started with David Fabricius (1564-1617) in the year 1596, when he discovered Mira (aka omicron Ceti) as a star with non equal brightness. At this time this was a sensation, because the invariability of the sphere of fixstars was a strongly believed theorem. Nearly three quarters of a century later the Italian astronomer Geminiano Montanari (1633-1687) wrote down in 1670 that the second brightest star in the constellation of Perseus is changing its brightness.

The star has the Arabic name "Algol", which stands for "Head of the Ghul". In fact at the place of Algol in the picture of the constellation there is the head of the Medusa, which the Greek hero Perseus had killed with his mirror shield by her own look. With this head Perseus was able to petrify the seamonster Cetus, whom the princess Andromeda, daughter of Cassiopeia and Cepheus should be offered. Another name for Algol is "Devils Star". This name may indicate that maybe before Montanari Arabian astronomer knew the special nature of Algol.

More than a hundred years after the discoveries by Montanari John Goodricke looked to the stars with a somewhat modest equipment. The Warrington tutor William Enfield brought John Goodricke to astronomy, and the young man observed the sky together with his cousin Edward Pigott. According to his observations he was the first one to calculate the period of Algol to 68 hours and 50 minutes, where the star was changing its brightness by more than a magnitude as seen from Earth.

Goodricke was reporting this observations in 1783 at the British Royal Society, and for explaning these observations he proposed two theories: that the distant sun is periodically occulted by a dark body, or that the star itself has a darker region which is directing to Earth periodically because of the star rotation. With his first theory Goodricke is noted as the discoverer of the occultating variable stars in the history of astronomy. For his report he got the Godfrey Copley medal from the Royal Society for important scientific discoveries.

Algol Animation
Algol or beta Perseï is a multi star system 96 lightyears away with two main components, where the central star is a massive, bright, white blue main class star (B8) with 3.7 solar masses at 2.9 times solar diameter and a 100 times higher absolute brightness than our Sun. The orbiting secondary star is a yellow red undersize giant star (K2) with 0.8 solar masses at 3.5 times the solar diameter and a three times higher absolute brightness than our Sun. Both stars have a distance of around eight solar diameter. This double star system is orbited by a third main class star (F1) in around two astronomical units. The nature of the Algol system were discovered through the spectroscopic analization of Algol's light applying the Doppler effect, postulated by Christian Andreas Doppler (1803-1853).

The central star is draining off mass from the secondary star, which collects in an accretition disk around the main sun and which is spiraling downward to the center. At the point where the plasma of the secondary star hits the accretition disk a hot spot exists, where the temperature might be more than 100,000 Kelvin. The rotation axis of Algol is only angled by 8 degrees to the view plane of the Earth, therefor the "dark body" postulated by Goodricke is the lesser bright star, partly occultating the brighter central star.

The brightness of Algol drops from 2m1 to ca. 3m4 at such an occultation for more than 9 hours. If the secondary star gets behind the main star the total brightness has another minimum, but this is only a fraction of a magnitude. - The third star of Algol has no influence to the brightness of the Devils Star, but in a period of 1.862 years the spectrum of the star system changes, which is indicating the presence of another massive orbiting body.

Lyra in StarryNight

Goodricke looked for other variable stars and he found in 1783/4 with Sheliak aka beta Lyrae another one. The period of Sheliak the young astronomer calculated to 12 days and 20 hours. In the picture of the Lyra the star is directly below the main star of the constellation Vega. - The Lyra was originally the instrument of the winged messenger Hermes, but the singer Orpheus could become the owner of this magic lyre and with it he could free his loved Euridike out of the underworld.

The light curve of Sheliak is to find between 3m3 and 4m1, the true period is 12 days and ca. 21.8 hours. The secondary minimum at 3m7 is more significant than for Algol, but the curve is also much more smoother than the one of Algol.

Sheliak Animation
Sheliak is a double star system with two giant suns close together, so that they are deforming each other and exchanging mass, which is ejected within a huge accretition disk around the stars. This disk is darkening both of the stars, but mostly the smaller, hotter, normally brighter star. The star system also might have at least three more companion stars and is 860 to 1000 lightyears away.

The brightness change of Sheliak is realized by the deformation of the starry atmosphere. If a deformed star is presenting its broad side to the viewer it looks brighter than if the top side is shown. Also because of the difference in visible brightness of the two stars, the light curve of Sheliak is a combination of occultation and deformation brightness change. The main minimum takes place when the darker red giant shows its top side and the secondary minimum takes place when the smaller brighter star is standing before the bigger star.

Cepheus in StarryNight
Goodricke discovered also the variable star Altais or better known as delta Cepheï. He calculated the period of this star to 128 hours and 45 minutes with an outstanding correctness. The visible brightness of the star is varying between 3m6 and 4m4 within this time span. But Goodricke's theories about the reason of the variability came to an end on this star.

The star delta Cepheï became name giving for an own class of massive suns - the delta-Cepheï stars or Cepheïds. Because of inner thermonuclear processes and an interaction between gravity and radiation pressure they blow up periodically and shrink in defined time spans. They not only change their size, but also their color, surface temperature and brightness in the same period. The brightness variation has a typical shark fin form.

John Goodricke was admitted to the Royal Society at April the 16th 1786 already when 21 years old. He didn't recognized this honor anymore, because he died in 1786 at April the 20th in York by pneumonia. One of the halls of the York university is named after him in remembrance.

*

Altais Animation
1912 Henrietta Swan Leavitt (1868-1921) discovered a relation between the mean brightness and the period of the brightness change of delta Cepheï stars within the Small Magellanic Cloud. This means that with the period of such a star also the absolute brightness can be estimated, and therefor also the distance through the relative brightness of the star. With this delta Cepheï stars are like "distant marker" for galaxies, in which they could be identified. They offered the first hint for the distances within the universe. (See also the NASA Astro Picture Of the Day from 27.10.98.)

The variable star Mira, discovered by David Fabricius, like Altais is pulsing by inner actions, but different to Altais Mira is a red super giant star and not a blue giant. The relation of brightness and period is not valid for Mira. (See also NASA Astro Picture Of the Day from 11.10.1998).

Sources:
H.-U. Keller (Ed.): Das Kosmos Himmelsjahr 1997, Franck-Kosmos 1996
Joachim Herrmann (Ed.): Das große Lexikon der Astronomie, Orbis Verlag 1996
Roland Brutscher: Die Ferne der Sterne, in Star Observer 3/98

The Animations were rendered with PoV-Ray 3.0 on Linux 2.0, transformed to GIF with PBM tools and combined with Gifmerge. The time relations of the animationen were adapted from the periodes in reality (ca. 62.000 times faster).


Page history:
created 1998-10-06 German version
modified 1998-11-30 Final translations
modified 1998-12-08 as Goodricke-e.html
modified 2000-02-04 History template and small changes
modified 2003-07-04 deafness through scarlet fever (according to Michael Goodrick) + Cepheus
modified 2003-08-06 cite + details (link to Doppler)

To the Sky over Berlin...To the astronomy links...-- jd --

In dieser Nacht beta-Perseï (Algol) betrachtet und war höchst
erstaunt, daß seine Helligkeit verändert war. Er erscheint nun
in vierter Magnitude... Ich beobachtete ihn emsig für vielleicht mehr
als eine Stunde... kaum glaubend, daß er tatsächlich seine Helligkeit
verändert hat, denn ich habe nie von einem Stern gehört, der so
schnell in seiner Leuchtkraft wechselt. Ich dachte, es könnte vielleicht
an einer optischen Täuschung liegen, einem Fehler in meinen Augen
oder an verschmutzer Luft, aber die Fortsetzung wird zeigen, daß die
Veränderung real ist und daß ich nicht fehlgeleitet war.

(John Goodricke, Tagebucheintrag 12. November 1782)


John Goodricke

Die Entdeckung der Bedeckungsveränderlichen Sterne

John Goodricke Portrait

John Goodricke (1764-1786), Astronom

John Goodricke wurde am 17. September 1764 in Groningen geboren als Sohn eines britischen Diplomaten und einer holländischen Kaufmannstochter. Im Alter von fünf Jahren erkrankte er an Scharlach, wodurch er vollständig das Gehör verlor. Er schaffte es aber von den Lippen lesen und sprechen zu lernen. Die wohlhabenden Eltern hatten ihn dazu im Alter von acht in eine Spezialschule in Edinburgh geschickt. 1778 mit dreizehn Jahren konnte er dann eine Akademie in Warrington nahe York besuchen, die keine besonderen Einrichtungen für Behinderte besaß.

Perseus Sternbild in StarryNight
Die Entdeckung der veränderlichen Sterne begann mit David Fabricius (1564-1617) im Jahre 1596, der Mira bzw. omikron Ceti als einen Stern mit nicht gleichbleibender Helligkeit entdeckte. Dies war zu dieser Zeit eine Sensation, glaubte man doch noch an die Unveränderlichkeit des Fixsternhimmels. Fast ein Dreivierteljahrhundert später hielt der italienische Astronom Geminiano Montanari (1633-1687) 1670 fest, daß der zweithellste Stern im Perseus seine Helligkeit verändert.

Der Stern trägt den arabischen Namen "Algol", was "Kopf der Ghul" bedeutet. Tatsächlich ist an der Stelle von Algol im Sternbild das Haupt der Medusa, die der griechische Held Perseus mit seinem Spiegelschild durch ihren eigenen Blick getötet hatte. Mit dem Haupt konnte er das Seeungeheuer Cetus versteinern, dem die Prinzessin Andromeda, Tochter der Kassiopeia und des Kepheus geopfert werden sollte. Algol wird u.a. auch Teufelsstern genannt. Dieser Beiname Algols legt nahe, daß vielleicht schon vor Montanari arabische Astronome von der Besonderheit Algols gewußt hatten.

Über hundert Jahre nach der Entdeckung von Montanari betrachtete John Goodricke den Stern mit relativ bescheidenen Mitteln. Der Warringtoner Lehrer William Enfield brachte John Goodricke zur Astronomie, und der junge Mann beobachtete mit seinem Cousin Edward Piggott den Himmel. Anhand seiner Beobachtungen berechnete Goodricke als Erster die Periode von Algol zu 68 Stunden und 50 Minuten, in denen der Stern für wenige Stunden um mehr als eine Größenklasse von der Erde gesehen deutlich dunkler erscheint.

Goodricke berichtete 1783 von dieser Beobachtung vor der britischen Royal Society und lieferte als Erklärungsmöglichkeiten für solche periodischen Veränderungen zwei Theorien: daß die Sonne durch einen großen Körper regelmäßig verdeckt wird, oder daß auf dem Stern selbst eine stationäre dunklere Region existiert, die durch Rotation regelmäßig der Erde zugewandt wird. Mit seiner ersten Theorie ging Goodricke als Entdecker der Bedeckungsveränderlichen in die Geschichte der Astronomie ein. Für seine Arbeit erhielt der die Godfrey-Copley-Medallie von der Royal Society.

Algol Animation
Algol bzw. beta Perseï ist ein Mehrfachsternsystem in 96 Lichtjahren Entfernung mit zwei Hauptkomponenten, von denen ist der Zentralstern ein massereicher, heller blauweißer Hauptreihenstern (B8) mit 3,7facher Sonnenmasse bei 2,9fachem Sonnendurchmesser und einer absolut 100fachen Sonnenhelligkeit und der umkreisende Nebenstern ist ein gelbroter Unterriesenstern (K2) mit 0,8facher Sonnenmasse bei 3,5fachem Sonnendurchmesser und 3facher Sonnenhelligkeit. Die beiden Sterne sind etwa 8 Sonnendurchmesser voneinander entfernt. Um dieses Doppelsternsystem kreist ein dritter Hauptreihenstern (F1) in rund zwei Astronomischen Einheiten Entfernung. Die Natur des Algol-Systems konnte vor allem durch die Spektralanalyse und unter Anwendung des Doppler-Effekts ermittelt werden, der von Christian Andreas Doppler (1803-1853) postuliert wurde.

Der Zentralstern zieht dem Nebenstern Masse ab, die in einer Akkretionsscheibe um den Zentralstern spiralförmig einfließt, und die einen hellen, heißen Fleck besitzt, dort wo das Plasma des Nebensterns auf die Scheibe trifft. Die Rotationsebene von Algol ist zur Sichtebene von der Erde aus nur um etwa 8 Grad geneigt, so daß der "dunkle Körper", den Goodricke postuliert hatte, der lichtschwächere Stern ist, der sich regelmäßig vor den helleren Zentralstern schiebt.

Algols Helligkeit sinkt für mehr als 9 Stunden von 2m1 auf etwa 3m4, wenn der stärkere vom schwächeren Stern teilweise bedeckt wird. Wenn der Nebenstern hinter dem Hauptstern verschwindet, entsteht in der Gesamthelligkeit ein Nebenminimum, das allerdings nur Bruchteile einer Größenklasse beträgt. - Der dritte Stern hat keinen Einfluß auf die Helligkeit des Teufelssterns, aber in einer Periode von 1,862 Jahren verändert sich das Spektrum des Gesamtsystems, womit sich zuerst die Anwesenheit eines weiteren massereichen Körpers bemerkbar gemacht hatte.

Lyra Sternbild in StarryNight

Goodricke suchte nach weiteren Veränderlichen und fand 1783/4 in Sheliak bzw. beta Lyrae einen weiteren Vertreter. Seine Periode ermittelte der junge Astronom mit 12 Tagen und 20 Stunden. Im nebenstehenden Bild liegt der Stern unterhalb des Hauptsterns der Leier, Wega. - Die Leier ist ursprünglich das Instrument des geflügelten Götterboten Hermes, die in den Besitz des Sängers Orpheus gelangte, und der damit seine Geliebte Euridike aus der Unterwelt befreite.

Die Lichtkurve von Sheliak liegt zwischen 3m3 und 4m1, die wahre Periode dauert 12 Tage und rund 21,8 Stunden. Das Nebenminimum ist mit 3m7 wesentlich ausgeprägter als bei Algol, die Kurve ist aber dafür sehr viel kontinuierlicher.

Sheliak Animation
Sheliak ist ein Doppelsternsystem, bei dem zwei Riesensterne so nahe beieinander stehen, daß sie sich gegenseitig deformieren und auch gegenseitig Masse austauschen. In einer gewaltigen Akkretionsscheibe wird der Nebenstern zum Teil verdunkelt. Das Sonnensystem hat wahrscheinlich noch drei weitere Sterne als Begleiter und ist 860 bis 1000 Lichtjahre entfernt.

Die Helligkeitsveränderung bei Sheliak ergibt sich zu einem großen Teil aus der Deformation der Sternenatmosphäre. Wenn ein solcher Stern dem Betrachter die Breitseite zeigt, so erscheint er heller, als wenn man die spitze Seite sieht. Andererseits erscheint der wesentlich massereichere Nebenstern dunkler als der Hauptstern. Die Lichtkurve ergibt sich also aus der Kombination der Effekte durch Bedeckung und Verformung. Das Hauptminimum entsteht, wenn der eigentlich dunklere Riesenstern mit seiner spitzen Seite zur Erde zeigt, das Nebenminimum tritt ein, wenn der hellere Stern vor dem Riesenstern steht.

Cepheus in StarryNight
Einen weiteren veränderlichen Stern entdeckte Goodricke mit Altais bzw. delta Cepheï. Die Periode berechnete er auf 128 Stunden und 45 Minuten mit einer erstaunlichen Genauigkeit. Die scheinbare Helligkeit schwankt in dieser Zeit zwischen 3m6 und 4m4. Seine Theorien vom Ursprung der sich ändernden Helligkeit waren bei diesem Stern aber am Ende.

Der Stern delta Cepheï wurde namensgebend für eine eigene Klasse massereicher Sonnen - den delta-Cepheï-Sternen bzw. Cepheïden, die sich durch innere Vorgänge in spezifischer Weise periodisch aufblähen und wieder zusammenfallen. Sie verändern dabei nicht nur die Größe, sondern auch die Farbe, Oberflächentemperatur und Helligkeit in periodischer Weise. Die Helligkeitskeitsschwankung besitzt eine typische Haifischflossenform.

John Goodricke wurde schon mit 21 Jahren in die Royal Society am 16. April 1786 als Mitglied aufgenommen. Er erfuhr diese Ehrung jedoch nicht mehr, denn er starb am 20. April 1786 in York an einer Lungenentzündung. Einer der Hörsäle der Yorker Universität ist in Erinnerung an ihm benannt.

*

Altais Animation
1912 entdeckte Henrietta Swan Leavitt (1868-1921) eine Abhängigkeit zwischen der mittleren Helligkeit und der Periode in der Helligkeitsschwankung von delta-Cepheï-Sternen in der kleinen Magellanschen Wolke. Das bedeutet, daß mit der Periode eines solchen Sterns auch die absolute Helligkeit abgeschätzt werden kann. Mit dieser absoluten Helligkeit und der scheinbaren, auf der Erde sichtbaren Helligkeit kann aber gleichzeitig die Entfernung des Sterns näherungsweise bestimmt werden. Damit sind die delta-Cepheï-Sterne "Entfernungsschilder" für Galaxien, in denen sie gefunden werden können. Sie boten einen ersten Hinweis auf die Entfernungen und Ausdehnungen im Universum. (Siehe dazu auch das NASA Astrobild vom 27.10.98.)

Der von David Fabricius entdeckte veränderliche Stern Mira pulsiert wie Altais durch innere Vorgänge, allerdings ist Mira im Unterschied zu Altais ein roter Überriese mit einem Begleitstern und kein blauer Riesenstern. Die Gesetzmäßigkeit der Relation von Helligkeit und Periode trifft für Mira nicht zu (siehe auch NASA Astrobild vom 11.10.1998).

Quellen:
H.-U. Keller (Hrsg.): Das Kosmos Himmelsjahr 1997, Franck-Kosmos 1996
Joachim Herrmann (Hrsg.): Das große Lexikon der Astronomie, Orbis Verlag 1996
Roland Brutscher: Die Ferne der Sterne, in Star Observer 3/98

Die Animationen wurden gerendert mittels PoV-Ray 3.0 unter Linux 2.0, nach GIF gewandelt mittels PBM-Tools und kombiniert mittels Gifmerge. Die zeitlichen Relationen der Animationen sind denen der Periodenzeiten in der Realität angenähert (etwa 62tausendfach beschleunigt).


Seitenhistorie:
erstellt 1998-10-06 als himmel.99.09.html
geändert 1998-12-08 zu Goodricke.html
geändert 2000-02-04 Template
geändert 2003-07-04 Taubheit durch Scharlach (nach Michael B. Goodrick) + Cepheus
geändert 2003-08-06 Zitat und Details (Link zu Doppler)

Zum Himmel über Berlin...Zu den Astronomielinks...-- jd --