Christoph Scheiner

The systematic observation of the Sun

from Hemleben: 'Galilei'

Father Christoph Scheiner observates the sunspots, from "Rosa Ursina", 1630

Christoph Scheiner was born July 1575 the 25th in Wald at Mindelheim in Bavaria and 1595 he entered the Jesuit order at Landsberg. Until 1609 he studied philosophy, theology, mathematics, and Hebrew, from 1610 until 1616 he was professor for the last two sciences.

In this time he also began with his astronomical activities, when in January 1612 his first writings about sunspots were published. Because the fact of sunspots at all was contradictious to the ecclesiastical scholarship of the virginity of the unchangeable sky and the celestial objects, Scheiner's letters to the Augsburg publisher Markus Welser were published under the pseudonym: "Apelles latens post tabulam" (Apelles hidden behind the table). For viewing the Sun Scheiner had used colored visor glass. His intentions were a test of the seen glance of spots on the solar disk, seen at deep foggy weather in 1611. These spots were discovered parallel by the East Frisian astronomer Johannes Fabricius (1587-1615) (son of David Fabricius (1564-1617), discoverer of the variability of Mira, see also John Goodricke) and the Italian physicist Galileo Galilei (1564-1642). The published work "Joh. Fabricii Phrysii de maculis in Sole observatis et apparente earm cum Sole conversione Narratio" came out already in 1611, while the "Istoria e dimonstrazioni intorno alle macchie solari e loro accidenti" of Galilei wasn't printed before April 1613.

To the three letters by Scheiner Galilei replied with three (not that nice) own letters, and while Scheiner was still convinced by the Ptolemaian view to the world order and discussing the spots as small planets within the Mercury orbit or even below the Moon orbit in favour to spots on the Sun, Galilei was sure about the shadows on the surface of the Sun and he interpreted it as another argument for the Copernican heliocentric world. With the concept of sub mercurian or sub lunar bodies Scheiner wanted to save the invariance of the higher celestial spheres.

The sun, 11.2.1999The sun, 16.11.1999

The Sun over Berlin, 11.2.1999 16:30h and 16.11.1999 15:00h CET

Scheiner was one of the first using astronomical telescopes for the following solar observations. This kind of telescope was described by Johannes Kepler (1571-1630) in 1611 and consists of two collecting lenses. It provides upside-down and left-to-right images but with better magnification and light collecting capabilities.

Since 1616 Scheiner was working as father confessor and also as a consultant for some of the leaders in Europe. Besides of this he published his work "Oculus, hoc est: fundamentum opticum" in 1619, in which he describes some of the facts about the human eye, so the refraction indices within the main eye parts like lense and glass body, he states the retina as the crucial part for the sense of viewing, and describes the functions for other parts like pupil and iris. 1624 he came to Rome and continued his efforts for the systematical observation of the Sun at the observatory of the Gregoriana. Following the movement of the sunspots he calculated the rotation times of the Sun, that is about 25 days near the equator and 31 days near the poles. With this Scheiner determined the equator and rotation axis of the Sun, he discovered the solar flares and the granulation of the photosphere.

His discoveries he wrote down in his work "Rosa Ursina", which preprint works lasted from 1626 to 1630 because of the numerous illustrations. Most of Scheiner's discoveries could be resolved by science late after his death. And although he rejected his first theories about sub mercurian bodies and accepted the fact of spots on the Sun as a contradiction to the philosophy of Aristoteles of the invariable celestial bodies, until his death at July the 18th, 1650 in Neisse he didn't move from his confession about the geocentric universe.

Sources:
Johannes Hemleben: Galilei, rororo 1969
Fritz Krafft, Adolf Meyer-Abich (Eds.): Große Naturwissenschaftler, Fischer 1970


Page history:
created 1999-03-22
modified 1999-03-24 Sun pictures
modified 1999-11-30 corrections
modified 2000-02-08 picture link corrected

To the Sky over Berlin...To the astronomy links...-- jd --

Christoph Scheiner

Die systematische Beobachtung der Sonne

aus Hemleben: 'Galilei'

Pater Christoph Scheiner beobachtet die Sonnenflecken, aus "Rosa Ursina", 1630

Christoph Scheiner wurde am 25. Juli 1575 in Wald bei Mindelheim in Bayern geboren und trat 1595 dem Jesuitenorden zu Landsberg ein. Bis 1609 studierte er in Ingolstadt Philosophie, Theologie, Mathematik und hebräische Sprache und von 1610 bis 1616 war er Professor für die letzten beiden Fächer.

In diese Zeit fällt der Beginn seiner astronomischen Aktivitäten, denn Januar 1612 wurden seine Schriften zu Beobachtungen von Sonnenflecken veröffentlicht. Da die Flecken unvereinbar mit der kirchlichen Lehre von der Reinheit und Unveränderlichkeit des Himmels und der Gestirne war, erschienen die Schriften als Briefe an den Augsburger Verleger Markus Welser unter einem Pseudonym: "Apelles latens post tabulam". Zur Beobachtung der Sonne hatte Scheiner farbiges Blendglas benutzt. Ziel der Beobachtungen war es, vorher (1611) auf der durch Nebel verdunkelten Sonnenscheibe entdeckte Flecken zu bestätigen oder zu verwerfen. Diese Flecken hatten parallel der ostfriesische Astronom Johannes Fabricius (1587-1615) (Sohn von David Fabricius (1564-1617), dem Entdecker der Veränderlichkeit von Mira, siehe John Goodricke) und der italienische Physiker Galileo Galilei (1564-1642) ebenfalls beobachtet. Die Veröffentlichung "Joh. Fabricii Phrysii de maculis in Sole observatis et apparente earm cum Sole conversione Narratio" erschien dabei schon 1611, während Galileis "Istoria e dimonstrazioni intorno alle macchie solari e loro accidenti" erst im April 1613 gedruckt wurde.

Auf die Briefe Scheiners hatte Galilei jeweils Antwortschreiben verfaßt, und während Scheiner am Ptolemäischen Weltbild mit einer feststehenden Sonne festhielt und die Flecken nicht als Erscheinungen auf der Sonne, sondern eher für kleine Planeten innerhalb der Merkurbahn oder sogar im sublunaren Bereich hielt (womit die Unveränderlichkeit der Sphären hinter dem Mond gewahrt wäre), war sich Galilei der gefleckten Sonne und damit der Bestätigung des Kopernikanischen Weltbilds sicher.

Sonne vom 11.2.1999Sonne vom 16.11.1999

Die Sonne über Berlin, 11.2.1999 16 Uhr 30 und 16.11.1999 15 Uhr MEZ

Scheiner war einer der ersten, die für die folgenden Sonnenbeobachtungen ein astronomisches Teleskop nach den Beschreibungen von Johannes Kepler (1571-1630) baute und benutzte. Dieses aus zwei Sammellinsen bestehende Refraktorteleskop lieferte umgekehrte, seitenverkehrte, aber dafür wesentlich stärker vergrößernde und lichtstärkere Bilder.

Scheiner wirkte ab 1616 als Beichtvater und somit auch als Berater für einige Fürsten Europas. Nebenher veröffentlichte er 1619 das Werk "Oculus, hoc est: fundamentum opticum", in dem er, ohne von dem zugrundeliegenden Gesetz der Lichtbrechung in Medien zu wissen, die Brechungsindizes in den Teilen des Auges wie Linse und Glaskörper angeben konnte, die Netzhaut als Sitz des Gesichtssinns erkannte und die Funktionen von Pupille und Iris beschrieb. 1624 kam er nach Rom und widmete sich an der Sternwarte der Gregoriana der weiteren systematischen Beobachtung der Sonne. Anhand der Wanderung der Flecken berechnete er die Rotationszeiten der Sonne, die in Äquatornähe 25 Tage und in Polnähe rund 33 Tage beträgt. Er entdeckte die Rotationsachse der Sonne, die Sonnenfackeln und die Granulation der Photosphäre.

Seine Entdeckungen beschrieb er in dem Werk "Rosa Ursina", deren Druckvorlage von 1626 bis 1630 erarbeitet wurde. Viele seiner Entdeckungen konnten erst sehr viel später wissenschaftlich erklärt werden, und obwohl er von den sublunaren oder submerkurianischen Körpern abkam und die Flecken auf der Sonne tatsächlich als Oberflächenveränderungen auf dem nach Aristoteles eigentlich unveränderlichen Himmelskörper akzeptierte, so blieb er bis zu seinem Tod am 18. Juli 1650 in Neisse bei seiner Überzeugung vom geozentrischen Weltbild.

Quellen:
Johannes Hemleben: Galilei, rororo 1969
Fritz Krafft, Adolf Meyer-Abich (Hrsg.): Große Naturwissenschaftler, Fischer 1970


Seitenhistorie:
erstellt 1999-03-22
geändert 1999-03-23 Sonnenbilder eingefügt
geändert 2000-02-08 2.Sonnenbild ausgewechselt

Zum Himmel über Berlin...Zu den Astronomielinks...-- jd --