Sundials in
Berlin and around

The Sundial at the Falkplatz next to the Mauerpark


The Falkplatz in Berlin - Prenzlauer Berg is spanned by the Gleimstr. and the Schwedter Str. - In 1995 on this place a big sundial was built:

Sundial near the wall park, photo (82kB)

Falkplatz Sundial, Winter 1999/2000

Details of the Falkplatz sundial
The original reasoning event for the construction of the sundial was the UNO climate conference 1995 in Berlin. The base stone of the wall spiral was layed at a festivity at the equinox of March 1995. Until June 1995 the main construction was completed, and at another festivity at the summer solstice the gnonom and the totem ("Lebensbaum") was installed by Berlin fire fighters.

Details of the Falkplatz sundial
The nearly spiral sundial was planned as a "living sundial" and initiated by the groups of the "Netzwerk Klimagipfel 95", mainly by the journalist T. Römer with the "Verein zur Rettung des Regenwaldes und Naturschutzgebietes La Macarena", and the "Netzwerk Spiel/Kultur" at the Prenzlauer Berg.

Details of the Falkplatz sundial
The covering clay stones were made out of three metric tons of white and brown clay, formed by children of about 50 institutions like school classes and kindergardens of the closer region. The stones were burned and installed in the summer of 1995. Partly they are constructed out of different materials, partly especially formed or ornamented. Six detail images are showing some examples: (White near Red - MC?, Smiley with Heart Eyes, Sun-Moon-Star, Red Broken and Patterned, Rain pits and Stone Hearts in Clay, Red near White - Clay Fish and Sunshine over the Sea).

In September 1995 the sundial was completed. It was called "living sundial" because it was planned to replace the clay stones regulary when they are destroyed and to add some green to the outside wall of the clock. In December 1995 the clock got a special price of the local environmental administration.

Falkplatz sundial, photo (157kB)

Sundial at the Wall park, Summer 2000

An allsky panorama of the Falkplatz with the "Living Sundial" rests within the archive of the Wilhelm Foerster Observatory with planetarium at the Insulaner in Berlin after a lecture last summer. (By nice and persistent request it might be possible the get a presentation of this panorama.)

*

This sundial was deconstructed at the end of 2002 or at the beginning of 2003:

The dead living sundial at the Mauerpark, photo (61kB)

The dead "Living Sundial" at the Mauerpark, Berlin-Prenzlauer Berg, Spring 2003

sundial detail
sundial detail
The sundial spiral was originally built in March 1995 with 20000 used stones and hundreds of red and white burned clay stones. In June 1995 the gnonom (the pointer) was made out of a tree stem and also a "Lebensbaum" - a totem in front of the sundial - was erected.

Before March 2003 both totem and gnonom were removed, where the gnonom was totally digged out and the totem only was cut down. Motivations for this might had been "security reasons", because the sundial was close to a childrens playground and to climb onto the gnonom and falling down onto the wall might had been dangerous. So from this sundial only the wall spiral and the clay stones remained. A planned greening of the outside of the spiral never happened.

The photo above of the dead "Living Sundial" is referencing to a larger version of same photo (228kB JPEG), while the two detail pictures of some of the clay stones of the wall spiral are referencing to different pictures (like on the page of the Falkplatz sundial). It might be the future of this sundial that it will never be reconstructed and will be removed someday.

Next to the Falkplatz is the Max-Schmeling-Halle sports hall, the Siegfried-Jahn-Stadion football and athletics stadium, and the Gleim tunnel - connected railway bridges over the Gleimstr. forming a tunnel which was closed at the times of the wall (Mauer). The Falkplatz was near the former wall area, where today a park is remembering the past, therefore called Mauerpark.


To the Index...next...-- jd --

Sonnenuhren in
Berlin und Umgebung

Die Sonnenuhr auf dem Falkplatz am Mauerpark


Der Falkplatz im Prenzlauer Berg wird aufgespannt durch Gleimstraße und Schwedter Straße. 1995 entstand auf dem Falkplatz eine großflächige Sonnenuhr:

Sonnenuhr am Mauerpark Foto mit Pentax MZ-5 (82kB)

Sonnenuhr am Mauerpark, Winter 1999/2000

Details der Sonnenuhr am Mauerpark
Anlaß für den Bau der Sonnenuhr war u.a. der UNO-Klimagipfel 1995 in Berlin. Der Grundstein der 12 Meter durchmessenden Mauerspirale wurde im Rahmen eines Festes im März 1995 gelegt. Bis Juni 1995 zu einem Sonnenwendenfest wurden die Hauptarbeiten mit der Installation des Gnonom und des Totem/"Lebensbaumes" durch die Berliner Feuerwehr fertiggestellt.

Details der Sonnenuhr am Mauerpark
Initiatoren und Planer der als "Lebende Sonnenuhr" gedachten Spirale waren das "Netzwerk Klimagipfel 95" mit dem Journalisten T. Römer, der "Verein zur Rettung des Regenwaldes und Naturschutzgebietes La Macarena", das "Netzwerk Spiel/Kultur" am Prenzlauer Berg und einige mehr.

Details der Sonnenuhr am Mauerpark
Die Tonsteine aus drei Tonnen weißem und braunen Ton wurden von Kindern aus rund 50 Einrichtungen der Umgebung geformt und gebrannt und im Sommer 1995 eingemauert. Sie sind zum Teil speziell geformt, zum Teil verschiedenfarbig zusammengesetzt und zum Teil mit Stempel oder durch Ritzen verziert. Sechs Detailbilder zeigen Beispiele dazu (Weiß bei Rot - MC?, Smiley mit Herzaugen, Sonne-Mond-Stern, Roter Bruch und Muster, Regenfallen und Steinherzen in Ton, Rot bei Weiß - Tonfisch und Sonne überm Meer).

Im September 1995 war die Sonnenuhr fertiggestellt. Eine "Lebende Sonnenuhr" sollte die Uhr deshalb werden, weil geplant war, Tonsteine regelmäßig zu ersetzen und die Uhr zu bepflanzen. Im Dezember 1995 erhielt die Uhr einen Sonderpreis des Bezirksumweltamtes.

Sonnenuhr am Mauerpark Foto mit Pentax MZ-5 (157kB)

Sonnenuhr am Mauerpark, Sommer 2000

Ein Allsky-Panorama vom Falkplatz mit der "Lebenden Sonnenuhr" schlummert seit einem Vortrag über Sonnenuhren im Berliner Raum im Archiv der Wilhelm-Foerster-Sternwarte mit Planetarium am Insulaner in Berlin. (Beharrliches, nettes Nachfragen könnte ggf. dazu führen, daß man dieses Panorama vorgeführt bekommen kann.)

*

Ende 2002, Anfang 2003 wurde die Sonnenuhr demontiert:

Die tote lebende Sonnenuhr am Mauerpark, Foto (61kB)

Die tote "Lebende Sonnenuhr" am Mauerpark, Berlin-Prenzlauer Berg, Frühling 2003

Details der Sonnenuhr am Mauerpark
Details der Sonnenuhr am Mauerpark
Nur etwa acht Jahre zuvor war im März 1995 aus 20000 Abbruchsteinen und hunderten von Tonsteinen auf dem Falkplatz die Sonnenuhr aufgebaut worden. Ab Juni 1995 bildete ursprünglich ein Baumstamm das Gnonom. Auch der zusätzliche Totem als "Lebensbaum" ab Juni 1995 war ein Baumstamm.

Vor März 2003 müssen Totem und Gnonom entfernt worden sein, wobei der Schattenweiser vollständig ausgegraben wurde, während der Totem zumindest anfangs nur gekappt worden war. Die Motivation dafür könnten ggf. "Sichergründe" gewesen sein. Übrig blieb nur die Mauerspirale mit einigen der Tonsteine. Zu einer Begrünung, die für die Außenseite der Mauerspirale geplant gewesen war, war es nie gekommen.

Das obige Foto von der toten "Lebenden Sonnenuhr" verweist (wie auch bei den Fotos auf der Seite zur Sonnenuhr vom Falkplatz) auf eine vergrößerte Darstellung des Fotos (228kB JPEG), während die beiden Detail-Fotos von Tonsteinen der Mauerspirale auf jeweils weitere Fotos im gleichen Format verweisen. Es ist eher zu befürchten, daß die Sonnenuhr nicht wieder rekonstruiert wird.

Den Falkplatz findet man in der Nähe von Gleimtunnel, Max-Schmeling-Halle und Jahn-Stadion. Zur Zeit der Mauer war der Platz Teil des Grenzgebiets, wovon der nahegelegene Park seinen Namen Mauerpark hat.


Zum Index...weiter...-- jd --