Sundials in
Berlin and around

Sundials in Tiergarten and Kreuzberg


Sundial within the Fritz-Schloßpark photo (64kB)

Sundial within the Fritz-Schloßpark, late spring 2000

If you ask an average, possibly born Berlin citizen for the location of the Fritz-Schloßpark - the result might be only a shrug with the shoulders for eighty to ninety percent. It might be even more funny if you're doing it in front of the park itself, because for most of the Berliners the Fritz-Schloßpark at the Rathenower Straße in Alt-Moabit (which belongs to the former Berlin district Tiergarten) is known as the park at the Poststadium and the "Fritz-Schloß" is the court for criminal justice with the added jail.

The sundial is a bit hidden on a hill within the park near the stadium. According to the catalogue of sundials in Germany and Switzerland the clock was installed within the 20th century. This a bit vague date and the design of the sundial might lead to the idea that the sundial is one of many sundials made and erected with in the 30ies within Berlin...


photos done with Minox 35ML

English Garden with Sundial, Berlin-Tiergarten, Spring 2000

The English Garden in Berlin is part of the Tiergarten next to Bellevue Castle (home of the president of the federal republic) and the Siegessäule. If the park is entered on a specific path coming from the Altonaer Str., then the sundial next to the "Haus im Englischen Garten" is already visible from the border of the park. This view is shown by the picture above.

The sundial is a metal work of 1987 and it is a gift of a Tiergarten citizen which states the plate at the base of the clock. Left of it there is a small pond and right of it there is the house which is a restaurant, open all through the year. The picture above is referencing to two view to the sundial, a front view, 117kB JPEG and a side view, 119kB JPEG, to a picture of the pond (180kB JPEG) and to a picture of the house (114kB JPEG), all taken in the early Spring of 2000 (Winter 1999/2000).


photo: Pentax MZ-5

Wall Sundial, Adalbertstr.,
Berlin-Kreuzberg, late Spring 2000
The following two sundials were already photographed in the year 2000. Both of them are within the catalog "Sonnenuhren - Deutschland und Schweiz" from Philipp et al., published by the German Society for Chronometry in 1994. Both sundials are somewhat large, but still they are easy to overlook. Both sundials are placed on a complete side of a house, and both of them are located in Berlin-Kreuzberg, which is a former district of West-Berlin - nowadays splashed together with the former East-Berlin district Friedrichshain, where the only connection of these districts is the Oberbaumbrücke. The two sundials are the only catalogized sundials for Berlin-Kreuzberg.
photo: Pentax MZ-5

Wall Sundial, Nostitzstr.,
Berlin-Kreuzberg, late Spring 2000

The left one is to find at the crossing Adalbertstraße / Waldemarstraße. The sundial itself is filling the gable only, the rest of the house wall is filled with a washed out painting about the four-seasons-topic. If not looking up this sundial is not noticable. One fact is identifying this sundials as installed after 1980: it has two scales, one for MET and one for MEST (aka. MET DST). The digits for MET are arabic, while the digits for MEST are roman. According to the catalog this sundial was installed in 1985 and has a size of 10 times 5 meter, showing the time somewhat accurate. It is to find within the neighborhood of the artists house "Künstlerhaus Bethanien". The closest underground station is Kottbusser Tor.

The right one is located at the junction of the Riemannstraße into the Nostitzstraße. These streets are South of the Gneisenaustraße between the underground stations Mehringdamm and Gneisenaustraße. This sundial is easy to overlook, because its missing one of the most important things for a sundial: the scale. There are no digits at this sundial and the marking colors are only somewhat helpful to read the time. According to the sundial catalog the gnonom is not parallel to the Earth axis, so that its only possible to estimate any time in relation to the seasons. The symmetrically and equally divided dial is about 10 times 10 meter large. The objects in the foreground of the photo are from a florist shop within the Nostitzstraße at that time.


To the Index...next...-- jd --

Sonnenuhren in
Berlin und Umgebung

Sonnenuhren in Tiergarten und Kreuzberg


Sonnenuhr im Fritz-Schloßpark Foto (64kB)

Sonnenuhr im Fritz-Schloßpark, Spätfrühling 2000

Man frage einen durchschnittlichen, wenn möglichen geborenen Berliner danach, wo sich der Fritz-Schloßpark befindet. Man wird wohl zu achtzig bis neunzig Prozent nur ein Schulterzucken ernten. Besonders lustig wird es, wenn man sich sogar davor befindet, denn für die meisten ist der Fritz-Schloßpark an der Rathenower Straße in Alt-Moabit eher der Park am Poststadion und das "Fritz-Schloß" das heutige Kriminalgericht mit angeschlossener Strafanstalt.

Die Sonnenuhr befindet sich etwas versteckt auf dem Areal einer Anhöhe im Park in der Nähe zum Poststadion. Nach dem Katalog zu Sonnenuhren in Deutschland und der Schweiz der DGC wurde die Uhr im "20. Jahrhundert" errichtet. Diese etwas schwammige Aussage und die Ausführung der Sonnenuhr könnte darauf hindeuten, daß die Sonnenuhr eine der vielen in den 30er Jahren in Berlin aufgestellten Zeitanzeiger ist.


Fotos mittels Minox 35ML

Englischer Garten mit Sonnenuhr, Berlin-Tiergarten, Frühjahr 2000

Der Englische Garten ist ein Teil des Tiergartens in der Nähe von Schloß Bellevue und der Siegessäule, und wenn man den Park wie im obigen Bild sichtbar von einem bestimmten Weg von der Altonaer Straße aus betritt, so kann man auch bereits die Sonnenuhr sehen, die sich neben dem Haus im Englischen Garten befindet.

Die Sonnenuhr ist eine Metallarbeit von 1987 und ein Geschenk einer Tiergartener Bürgerin, was auch die Inschrift auf der Plakette am Sockel beschreibt. Links von der Uhr befindet sich der Teich des Englischen Gartens, rechts davon das Haus, das ganzjährig als Restaurant dient. Das obige Bild verweist auf zwei Bilder der Sonnenuhr (Frontansicht, 117kB JPEG und Schrägansicht, 119kB JPEG), ein Bild vom See (180kB JPEG) und eines vom Haus (114kB JPEG), jeweils gemacht im Frühjahr 2000 (Winter 1999/2000).


Foto: Pentax MZ-5

Wandsonnenuhr in der Adalbertstr.,
Berlin-Kreuzberg, Spätfrühling 2000
Die beiden nebenstehenden Sonnenuhren aus Kreuzberg, die beide im Katalog zu Sonnenuhren in Deutschland und der Schweiz von der deutschen Gesellschaft für Chronometrie von 1994 verzeichnet sind, sind auf den Fotos in ihrem Zustand im Jahr 2000 zu sehen. Beiden Sonnenuhren ist gemein, daß sie auf einer kompletten Seitenfront plaziert sind. Trotzdem sind beide relativ leicht zu übersehen.
Foto: Pentax MZ-5

Wandsonnenuhr in der Nostitzstr.,
Berlin-Kreuzberg, Spätfrühling 2000

Die linke Sonnenuhr an der Kreuzung Adalbertstraße / Waldemarstraße ist nämlich nur am Giebel angebracht, während die restliche Fläche ein verwaschenes Wandgemälde ist. Sofern man nicht nach oben schaut, kann einem die Sonnenuhr leicht entgehen. Besonderheit dieser Uhr und als nach 1980 entstanden identifizierend ist, daß sie sowohl eine Skala für MEZ also auch für MESZ besitzt. Nach dem Katalog wurde sie 1985 installiert, ist zehn mal fünf Meter groß und zeigt die Zeit ausreichend genau an. Sie ist im Umfeld des Künstlerhauses Bethanien zu finden. Der nächstliegendste U-Bahnhof ist Kottbusser Tor.

Die rechte Sonnenuhr an der Einmündung der Riemannstraße in die Nostitzstraße befindet sich südlich der Gneisenaustraße zwischen U-Bhf. Mehringdamm und U-Bhf. Gneisenaustraße. Sie ist leicht zu übersehen, denn trotz ihrer Größe fehlt ihr einiges, was eine typische Sonnenuhr ausmacht: die Zeitskala. Zudem ist nach dem Sonnenuhrenkatalog der Schattenstab nicht erdachsparallel, so daß selbst bei einer Skala eine Uhrzeit nur jeweils jahreszeitabhängig zu schätzen wäre. Das ziffernlose, symmetrisch gleichmäßig unterteilte Ziffernblatt ist etwa 10x10 Meter groß. Die Objekte auf dem Foto im Vordergrund sind von einem zu dieser Zeit noch existierenden Blumenladen in der Nostitzstraße.


Zum Index...weiter...-- jd --